UK Theatre Awards 2015 winners announced


UK Theatre has announced the winners of the UK Theatre Awards 2015 – the only awards to honour outstanding achievement in performing, producing and management in theatres throughout the United Kingdom.

Rachel Tackley, President of UK Theatre, said: ‘The winners of this year’s awards clearly demonstrate the creative strength and vibrancy of theatre across the whole of the United Kingdom. Theatres are an integral part of our local communities and these awards not only celebrate performers and theatremakers but also the venues and the teams that run them. At a time when national and local arts funding is under severe threat, it is more important than ever that we celebrate the incredible work our theatres are producing.’

The awards were presented at a the ceremony at London’s historic Guildhall compèred by musical theatre star Michael Xavier, with a performance from the cast of The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13¾ and appearances from guest presenters including Sir Patrick Stewart OBE, Barbara Windsor MBE, Richard Wilson OBE, Anne Reid MBE and Lee Mead.

The UK Theatre Awards are supported by a number of major organisations involved in theatre across the UK including The Stage, Harbottle & Lewis, Theatre Tokens, White Light, John Good and Smooth Radio.

Full list of UK Theatre Award 2015 winners:

Best New Play

Best Performance in a Play

Best Supporting Performance

  • Justine Mitchell for For Services Rendered, a Chichester Festival Theatre production

Best Musical Production

  • Gypsy directed by Jonathan Kent, a Chichester Festival Theatre production

Best Performance in a Musical

  • Imelda Staunton for Gypsy, a Chichester Festival Theatre production

Best Show for Children and Young People

  • Running Wild, a Chichester Festival Youth Theatre production

Best Director

  • Ned Bennett for Pomona, an Orange Tree Theatre production, and for YEN a Royal Exchange Theatre production

Best Design

  • Dick Bird, Timothy Bird and Paul Keogan for The Hudsucker Proxy, a Nuffield Theatre, Liverpool Everyman and Playhouse in association with Complicite production

Best Touring Production

  • Twelfth Night, an English Touring Theatre and Sheffield Theatres production

Achievement in Dance

  • Candoco Dance Company for a terrifically entertaining revival of Jérôme Bel’s postmodern classic The Show Must Go On

Achievement in Opera

  • Glyndebourne for an outstandingly well planned and performed season

The Renee Stepham Award for Best Presentation of Touring Theatre

Achievement in Marketing

  • Rambert for its work in attracting new audiences to contemporary dance, which has led to record breaking attendances in 2014/15

UK Theatre Insurance Award for Theatre Employee or Manager of the Year

Promotion of Diversity

  • Curve Theatre for its diversity action plan and strategy targeted at the age-profile and multiculturalism of the city
  • Watford Palace Theatre for its initiatives to ensure it offers and develops services for the widest range of the population

My Theatre Matters! UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre in association with Smooth Radio

The Stage Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre

  • Matthew Bourne OBE

Clothworkers’ Theatre Award

The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts

  • Dame Eileen Atkins

Further details about the UK Theatre Awards can be found at

Images: Johan Persson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s